The first building was erected in 1532 in the “Rue aux Laines” by Françoise of Luxemburg, widow of Count Egmont and was called “Petit Hotel d’Egmont”. Nothing subsists of it today, except a few remaining pilasters in the Egmont Park. In October 1918 after the end of the First World War, the Egmont Palace was sold to the City of Brussels. The City however was not quite sure to what end they would use the building and finally left it empty. To make matters worse, fires broke out in different wings in 1927 and 1959 which brought on great destruction. In 1964, on the initiative of the then Belgian Foreign Minister, Paul-Henri Spaak, the Belgian State purchased the Egmont Palace. It took seven years to renovate and decorate it completely. The property, which comprises the Palace, the Main Courtyard, the Gardens of the Boars and the Stables, houses the Protocol Department of the Federal Public Service Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation. The classical Palace is the ideal venue for your diners, cocktails and celebrations in an atmosphere of class and luxury.